Picture
The interesting thing about changing your routine is that it makes you mindful of your habits. I am noticing the difference between what my body wants and what my mind wants. My body is full after about two-thirds of what I normally eat and yet my appetite is not sated. Clearly my appetite is a product of the mind. And now that I am acutely aware of this the question becomes, which do I choose? When I honor the body and stop it is amazing how much the mind fights. It takes quite a bit of mental effort to work through all the shenanigans that ensue...and they persist long after the meal is over.

It makes me wonder in what other areas of my life do I make choices based on what my mind wants that do not truly serve my being. How does this appear in my relationships? Is this what is going on when I put others' needs above my own to satisfy my idea of how I should be rather than what actually is healthy? And if I choose that which is most healthful to my being, how will my mind and my habits fight me?

It reminds me a bit of quitting smoking when you have to tell yourself NO every 10 seconds for about a week until you can instead tell yourself NO every 30 seconds for the second week and so on until somewhere down the line, long after the last vestiges of nicotine have actually left your system, the mind finally pulls out the white flag and gives up.

That is how hard it is to change our patterns in the mind. And yet it IS possible and insanely simple...you just become aware and choose at each moment. Who do I want to be at this moment? How do I want to be? What serves my highest being? Ohhh so simple and ohhh so hard.

As to the meal that prompted these musings – Stacey made a mediterranean feast with spiced lamb burgers on a toasted baguette, sauteed kale, and salad with freshly picked lettuce and a divine creamy feta dressing. I DID NOT want to stop eating.
P.S. With the extra lamb Stacey made Gryffin some meatballs, which she loved. Check out the idea she came up with combining the spices she used for our burgers into a meatball she calls “Lamb Bowlers” in the recipes tab.



Leave a Reply.

    Where we were/ Where we are...

    For two years before Carrie got pregnant, we were eating nutrient-dense foods and training for ½ marathon walks. We were losing weight and getting into shape. And then we had a baby. A difficult labor and C-section followed by complications, coupled with a collicky baby who wouldn't breastfeed meant that Carrie was out for the count and spent much of her time pumping breast milk. And her mom, who we had slated to feed us for the first two months of Gryffin's life was instead standing in to help Stacey as parent number two. 

    With all that stress our nutrition went out the window. Fast forward two years now and although we have improved somewhat, our nutrition is still a major issue and it seems all our energy goes into being good moms with little left over for taking care of ourselves and our relationship. Parenthood on our marriage has become a contested space and so we've decided to do something about it. 

    This 30 day Food Challenge blog is part of a collaborative project we are doing to reconnect to ourselves and reclaim our marriage as a top family priority. We will be talking, seeking help from others, connecting to spirit through journeys, making art and documenting our project here on this website.  This work will also be featured as part of Stacey's Masters degree programme at Goldsmiths – University of London.

    Authors

    Carrie and Stacey have been creating together since they met in 2003.  Their collaborations include a seven year marriage, a two year old daughter, various art projects and yoga-art-spirit retreat workshops.  They are committed to furthering their connection to the world through mind, body, art and spirit.

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All