Picture
Today was going to be our eat out day, but we decided to heat up the soups we made from the weekend instead.  Carrie and I have gotten into making homemade soup and stock.  Who knew it could be so easy.  We actually make a few meals this way, first by getting a full chicken and roasting it in a baking dish with vegetables (like onions, potatoes, carrots, mushrooms, and/or cauliflower) some spices (herbes de provence, s&p) and butter.  The better the butter, the nicer the flavor.  When we lived in the Hudson Valley NY, we used to get raw butter from a farmer which was so rich it made everything so decadent, but even the good european style English butter we get here in London works well.  So, that's our first meal, then we pull off the remaining chicken for chicken salad sandwiches for our next day lunch for meal number two.  Then, we take the remaining bones and parts and throw them in a pot with the cut off pieces of onion and veggies we've been saving in a baggie in the fridge and add a few bay leaves, S&P and boil the hell out of it adding water and simmering it down to a rich thick glutenous stock.  The next day we divvy the stock up and Carrie makes her potato soup and I make a veggie soup with the extra roasted veggies from the first meal, chopped up a bit and I add to this whatever strikes my fancy.  I'm not a soup person, but I really like the soups I make.  If I don't have any leftover roasted veggies, I'll chop new ones and sauté them first in butter and olive oil.  Recently I added some cabbage which cooks up in no time and this time I added a can of organic lentils (which had their own juice) and a handful of spinach.   This soup reminds me of the kind my Nanna used to make, which of course also makes me think of my Mom.  It must be why eating homemade soup makes you feel loved, it takes time and care to make it and you feel that connection in each bite.  

Carrie and I enjoyed our soups with some old world cheddar I got at the grocer and some Ritz crackers we brought back from our trip to the US.  


Shannon
6/12/2012 11:27:41 am

Yummm!!! I love this comment - "I'm not a soup person, but I really like the soups I make." I love homemade soup!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Where we were/ Where we are...

    For two years before Carrie got pregnant, we were eating nutrient-dense foods and training for ½ marathon walks. We were losing weight and getting into shape. And then we had a baby. A difficult labor and C-section followed by complications, coupled with a collicky baby who wouldn't breastfeed meant that Carrie was out for the count and spent much of her time pumping breast milk. And her mom, who we had slated to feed us for the first two months of Gryffin's life was instead standing in to help Stacey as parent number two. 

    With all that stress our nutrition went out the window. Fast forward two years now and although we have improved somewhat, our nutrition is still a major issue and it seems all our energy goes into being good moms with little left over for taking care of ourselves and our relationship. Parenthood on our marriage has become a contested space and so we've decided to do something about it. 

    This 30 day Food Challenge blog is part of a collaborative project we are doing to reconnect to ourselves and reclaim our marriage as a top family priority. We will be talking, seeking help from others, connecting to spirit through journeys, making art and documenting our project here on this website.  This work will also be featured as part of Stacey's Masters degree programme at Goldsmiths – University of London.

    Authors

    Carrie and Stacey have been creating together since they met in 2003.  Their collaborations include a seven year marriage, a two year old daughter, various art projects and yoga-art-spirit retreat workshops.  They are committed to furthering their connection to the world through mind, body, art and spirit.

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All