Day 16 by Carrie

Today I spent a lovely afternoon with our friend Katia talking about motherhood and the spiritual journey of life. It was the most feeding social interaction I have had in a long time. We sat in the grass on the Goldsmiths campus with her baby while Gryffin looked for ladybugs and played with a tennis ball. As I spoke to her some things I had been ruminating over became clear. Mothering is such an all consuming thing and for the first year or so I was clear that being a mother was my spiritual practice. To stay present at all times, to be loving and gentle and patient when you have no sleep and your child has been crying for over an hour is an amazing practice. To gently say no over and over and over offering love and boundaries at the same time is no easy feat. And to consciously parent, paying attention to your choices, choosing your own path and not being on auto pilot takes intention and energy and a lot of perseverance. In my longing for a spiritual community here and my beating myself up for not being more connected to my spiritual practice I somehow forgot that LIFE is a spiritual practice. And it occurred to me that the care and mindfulness I once took with my marriage has now been funnelled into my child and I miss consciously making my marriage part of my spiritual life as well. It has felt like I don't have energy for both. Is that true? And if it is true that there isn't energy for both are we expecting too much? Maybe it is natural that at this time in our journey of parenthood your child takes it all and then that eases up later? You just suck it up 'til then and hope the flame is still there hiding in the coals that have been buried?

As always, no answers just tons of questions. The whole purpose of this project is to bring consciousness to all these issues so that Stacey and I can be more mindful in our interactions with each other. And maybe that is the trick to keeping the coals hot...to every so often go over and gently blow on them until they burn a brilliant red-orange. Maybe tonight I will go blow a little love into Stacey's heart and watch it glow.




Leave a Reply.

    Where we were/ Where we are...

    For two years before Carrie got pregnant, we were eating nutrient-dense foods and training for ½ marathon walks. We were losing weight and getting into shape. And then we had a baby. A difficult labor and C-section followed by complications, coupled with a collicky baby who wouldn't breastfeed meant that Carrie was out for the count and spent much of her time pumping breast milk. And her mom, who we had slated to feed us for the first two months of Gryffin's life was instead standing in to help Stacey as parent number two. 

    With all that stress our nutrition went out the window. Fast forward two years now and although we have improved somewhat, our nutrition is still a major issue and it seems all our energy goes into being good moms with little left over for taking care of ourselves and our relationship. Parenthood on our marriage has become a contested space and so we've decided to do something about it. 

    This 30 day Food Challenge blog is part of a collaborative project we are doing to reconnect to ourselves and reclaim our marriage as a top family priority. We will be talking, seeking help from others, connecting to spirit through journeys, making art and documenting our project here on this website.  This work will also be featured as part of Stacey's Masters degree programme at Goldsmiths – University of London.

    Authors

    Carrie and Stacey have been creating together since they met in 2003.  Their collaborations include a seven year marriage, a two year old daughter, various art projects and yoga-art-spirit retreat workshops.  They are committed to furthering their connection to the world through mind, body, art and spirit.

    Archives

    July 2012
    June 2012

    Categories

    All